Shared decision-making – Kings Fund report

The Kings Fund has, today, launched its report Making shared decision-making a reality: No decision about me, without me.

According to the Kings Fund, “Shared decision-making is a process in which clinicians and patients work together to clarify treatment, management or self-management support goals, sharing information about options and preferred outcomes with the aim of reaching mutual agreement on the best course of action.”

The government wants to place patients’ needs, wishes and preferences at the heart of clinical decision-making, a vision articulated by the Secretary of State for Health, Andrew Lansley, in the phrase ‘nothing about me, without me’. But what does this mean in practice?

Making shared decision-making a reality: No decision about me, without me aims to answer that question. It clarifies what is meant by the term shared decision-making and what skills and resources are required to implement it and it also outlines what action is needed to make this vision a reality.

Download Making shared decision-making a reality – No decision about me, without me here.

Leave a Reply

