Notable quote – a definition of ‘accountability’

The term ‘accountability’ is seen as synonymous with governance – although, in truth, it is also a managerial term.

But what exactly is accountability?

According to Jones and Stewart (2008), ‘accountability’ is “the liability to give an account of what one has done, or not done, to another who has authority to assess the account and allocate praise or blame.”

Reference:
Jones, G., Stewart, J., (2009), New development: Accountability in public partnerships – The case of Local Strategic Partnerships, Public Money and Management, January 2009:59-64.

6 Responses to Notable quote – a definition of ‘accountability’

  1. Caroline Oliver says:

    I agree with the first part of this definition but not with the assumption that it is always associated with praise or blame.

    I believe it would be much more helpful to say:
    accountability’ is “the liability to give an account of what one has done, or not done, to another who has authority to assess the account and determine the appropriate response.” The appropriate response can vary hugely depending upon innumerable factors. Linking accountability directly to praise or blame inhibits us from being accountable which inhibits us from achieving our goals.

  2. Excellent weblog here! Also your website lots up very fast!

    What host are you the usage of? Can I am getting your affiliate hyperlink on your host?
    I desire my web site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  3. RECOMMENDED says:

    Excellent work! This can be a variety of details that are said to be distributed around the internet. Shame for the look for motor for not setting this specific offered top! Come on over and also speak with my personal internet site. Cheers Is equal to)

  4. keyword2 says:

    Hurrah! After all I got a weblog from where I
    know how to genuinely take helpful data regarding my study and
    knowledge.

  5. Hey there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re
    working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I
    must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a fair price?
    Thank you, I appreciate it!

  6. Attractive element of content. I simply stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to say that I acquire in fact loved account your weblog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing in your augment and even I success you access persistently fast.

Leave a Reply

