ISO 31000 Risk management now published

The ISO 31000 International Standard Risk management – Principles and guidelines has now been published.

ISO 31000:2009 now replaces the Australian/New Zealand Standard 4360:2004 Risk management, which will be well know to the National Health Service. AS/NZS 43600 was originally licensed by the Department of Health for the NHS in England in 1999 as part of the NHS Controls Assurance project and, since then, has been the foundation for risk management across the NHS, not just in England, but across the rest of the UK and also in the Republic of Ireland.

According to Kevin Knight, chair of the ISO working group that developed ISO 31000, and the driving force behind AS/NZS 4360, ISO 31000:2009 is, in essence, the embodiment of what the latest revision of AS/NZS 4360 would have looked like.

Healthcare Governance Review published a post last month alerting readers to the forthcoming publication of ISO 31000 and providing a link to a video presentation by Kevin Knight (click here).

ISO 31000:2009 Risk management – Principles and guidelines can be purchased directly from ISO here.

The following two ‘companion’ guides are also available for purchase from ISO:

ISO/IEC 31010:2009 Risk management — Risk assessment techniques – click here

ISO Guide 73:2009 Risk management — Vocabulary – click here

5 Responses to ISO 31000 Risk management now published

  1. When I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment is added I receive four emails with the exact same comment. Perhaps there is a means you can remove me from that service? Cheers!

  2. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t
    know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already ;) Cheers!

  3. I am genuinely glad to read this blog posts which includes tons
    of useful information, thanks for providing such statistics.

  4. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

